lately

A grand total of No One On Earth is rushing to my blog to get my thoughts on the latest shitstorm of events in our country.

However, I sometimes read old things I’ve written in this blog as a reminder of where I was and what I was doing in a moment of time. So here are a few for June 2020.

  • I found this list of resources to read to be really useful and address specific questions I’ve been asking about myself and others.
  • I haven’t protested yet, though I want to show up. The social distancing limitations make me nervous. If I do it, it’ll probably be in Durham or Chapel Hill as the Raleigh police have been… awful. And perhaps you heard about Asheville?
  • Since the pandemic began I’ve tried to be intentional in, when I do get takeout, supporting small businesses.
    Recent events have brought me to feel curious and community-minded regarding what restaurants are owned by black owners. As my boyfriend pointed out, the link between policy brutality and where you get your takeout is weak at best, but I think there’s something to be said for going to a new neighborhood and supporting the business of someone that doesn’t necessarily look exactly like you. Moreover, the spot I went last week, Zweli’s, did something truly awesome when a local public housing community was evacuated due to carbon monoxide leaks. Moreover moreover, their collard greens and piri piri chicken and plantains were all PHENOMENAL
  • My mom pointed out that at my day job I help people in need and I help with health inequities (don’t believe in racism? Read about health disparities by race. Here’s just one example). I continue to be grateful to talk to my patients every day and play at least a small role in helping things get better.