living out of a suitcase

Remember my recent chronology?

So I hopped on a plane back to RDU after Lydia’s wedding. Admired the sunset over Jordan Lake as we landed.

Chicago, IL-> Carrboro, NC

IMG_6158

Don’t worry, my gorgey porgey false eyelashes stuck around for a few more days after the wedding. I MISS THEM.

IMG_6148

Then I was in Carrboro for a few days of hostessing! Fortunately my friend Claire is literally the best houseguest in the world and it was lots of fun having her around. (Claire is my friend with whom I communicate almost exclusively in quotes from Ted Cruz’s bad lip reading).

Her first morning in town, we met the silly boys from our program for brunch at Monuts (unofficial food sponsor of our class). While we waited for our orders, Claire learned some important animal facts.

IMG_6164

I didn’t get a donut, aaagh! I had an upset tummy for a few days after returning from the wedding. Don’t worry, I went again to Monuts a few short weeks later, chronicled later in this post.

I tried to be a good hostess and cook a tasty dinner for my guest (Malindi came by too). Deviled eggs from my friends’ chickens, roasted veggies, and amaaaaaaazing smoked mozzarella and fancy crackers.

IMG_6169

Then my auntie Michele moved down to Chapel Hill (huzzah! My efforts to get everyone I know to move down here to continue! Well fine she was maybe motivated by her own daughter Sophia and her imminently arriving grandbaby but I still take credit). My other auntie Jeanie came down for the weekend to help. Jeanie and I made dinner for everyone- Michele, Sophia, her husband Mike, and the fetus- one night.

Tasty salads, one tomato; one green.

IMG_6173

YUMMY South African red wine. And pasta!

IMG_6174

Pasta had sauteed mushrooms and peppers and YUMMY chicken meatballs from Weaver Street Market.

IMG_6175

I knew Mike and Sophia had some craziness coming their way so I made them dinner again a few nights later- this was DOPE mac and cheese because I used all the random cheese bits I’d thrown in my freezer.

IMG_6178

Then I hit the road to my internship. For the past eight weeks or so I’ve been spending my weekdays in Winston Salem interning at the hospital and my weekends back in Carrboro, living my life and seeing my friends.

Carrboro, NC-> Winston Salem, NC

I’ll tell you about what’s happening in Winston Salem soon! It’s cool!

Winston Salem, NC-> Carrboro NC

A few weeks ago I had a very delightful weekend. It was a weekend celebrating the nuptials of my good friend Steph and her now-husband Eric. That Friday evening I:

  • Was hosting my friends Jaclyn and Zach at my place; they were in town to celebrate the wedding
  • Planned to have dinner with them as well as some other friends from my program
  • Was stopping by my cousin’s to hang out with her and baby and help to the extent of my (limited) abilities with breastfeeding (my boss is a lactation consultant and my internship includes a lot of lactation, hurray!)

Long story short, I ended up getting wayyyyy held back at my cousin’s so I demanded that Colton pick up Zach and Jaclyn at my house and take them to dinner, where I would meet them.

Colton can’t do anything without being a total creeper, so he willingly picked up our friends at my house but then sent me a creepy-ass picture from my own bed.

IMG_4567.JPG

I made it to dinner. It was aight. This poke bowl was a little uninspiring. Ironically, I, the girl who ate raw fish, did not get food poisoning; my friends who ate fully cooked tacos did, yikes!

IMG_6220

Later on Friday night Steph and Eric hosted a gathering at a bar downtown and bought everyone free drinks. A bunch of us saw the market price seasonal chocolate board (!) and knew we had to go for it. Tasty treats!

IMG_6222

The wedding was the next day, Saturday. Zach and Jaclyn got a hotel room for that night and a few of us went with them to glamorize and get ready there. At the Durham Hotel housekeeping delivers chocolates to your room (!) and apparently if there are random strangers loitering around your room they get chocolate too (!!)

IMG_6226

The wedding was at one of those fabulous old Durham buildings that was probably once a tobacco warehouse. Lovely exposed bricks and things. Steph and Eric really love their chickens and this was reflected extensively in the decor that day.

IMG_6235

View from the balcony. You can see the ceremony seating area towards the back.

IMG_6229

The ceremony was short and so sweet. I am not usually a wedding cryer, BUT.

Eric, Steph’s now husband, is not a big talker. He helps run the NC Comic Con. He enjoys flying drones (and messing with the backyard chickens with drones). He often, ahem, disappears into the back room of their house and a cloud of smoke comes out from under the door. He is not a chatter.

During the vows Steph was cute and funny and told a sweet story about Eric’s grandfather. And Eric… Eric gave the most earnest, heartfelt, proclamation of his love for Steph and a rumination on all her inner light. Choking up. AND I CRIED REAL HARD.

But the ceremony was over in like ten minutes tops and then it was party time! Steph, when she hosts parties in her own home, always tends to end up standing on a chair to give guests directions (i.e. “Here is where you can find the wine”). Her wedding was no different, albeit she opted for a staircase this time around.

IMG_6238

I wish all weddings had slideshows of baby pictures. It is one of my favorite things!

IMG_6251

Also one of my favorite things: why have a cake when instead you can have an ice cream sundae bar from the best ice cream place in Durham?!

IMG_6242

All of the wedding food was REALLY DELICIOUS and not too safe and boring either (lots of interesting heirloom vegetables and smoky kebabs and things).

I can’t remember the last time I had a brownie sundae. It was a delight.

IMG_6245

Then there was an 80s vinyl DJ (!) and lots of silly dancing and chatting and gabbing. Eric was certainly feeling no pain by the end of the night hahahaha.

hilarious wedding pic

And the rest of us had fun too!

IMG_6250

The next morning, oh shocker, we hit up donuts. Zach and Jaclyn treated me to breakfast and then I drove them to the airport. We split this selection here (they ended up taking half of them with them for their trip):

IMG_6252

  • Blueberry pancake
  • the Carolinean (sweet potato bourbon!)
  • peach pistachio
  • spicy chocolate ginger
  • dude I don’t know
  • it is hard to keep track they are all delicious

For nutrition (sarcasm) we also got some savory food. Scrambled eggies and OMGSOGOOD avocado toast (hot pepper flakes+pepita seeds= great additions to avocado toast. The bread was also basically just a crispy butter sponge; didn’t hate that)

IMG_6253

Carrboro, NC-> Winston Salem, NC

Insert work week here!

Winston Salem, NC-> Carrboro NC

Finally being back into a semi-regular housing situation (albeit one divided between two towns) I was finally ready to do what Alli and I have been planning forever- a house warming party!

But not just a house warming party. A house warming party meets CELEBRATION OF DOLLY PARTON’S FIFTIETH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY AND VOW RENEWAL! Which was in 2016, which of course you knew, right, because you follow all Dolly related news, right?!

We enjoyed dressing up and there were many interpretations of Dolly, just as there have been many phases of Dolly. I went early career country Dolly, Alli went for 80s glamour princess Dolly. Hip bow! Press on nails! Tragically the white cowboy boots she ordered from Amazon for $8 that she planned to bedazzle did not arrive on time.

14232642_4406276600382_6789264680309281836_n

The night ended up being just a ridiculous series of playing dress up. Alli’s friend did some ethnographic research on the local drag queen community and brought some fabulous men’s stiletto high heels. I brought out a variety of temporary tattoos, which is how I ended up with R2D2 on my cleavage for a few days

IMG_6305

Is it deeply disorienting packing all of this fun into the weekend and living out of a suitcase? Yes. Do I enjoy it? Yes.

One more post and then we will actually be more or less caught up to the present!

Leave a Reply

