elizabeth’s on 37th

Indulge me as I continue to reminisce about my trip to Savannah.

The owner of the Bed ad Breakfast recommended Elizabeth’s on 37th, a super posh restaurant a little off the tourist beaten path. We made our way further south than we’d been and I, as usual, took a billion photographs of the beautiful houses.

IMG_0416 

Elizabeth’s is in a gorgeous old mansion.

IMG_0414  

The hostess was leading us one way but then I saw a adorable porch-y area and asked if we could be seated there.

I loved the whimsical produce artwork.

IMG_0417

And I knew Steve would love the Christmas lights.

 IMG_0418 

Our table had lovely fresh flowers.

IMG_0420 

And the menu was dizzying- checked all the local/seasonal/innovative boxes.

 IMG_0422

Of course it took us awhile to get through that because we were quite fixated on our free spicy cheddar mini biscuits with homemade marmalade (so perfectly tart)!

IMG_0424

And then drinks commanded our attention. I got a glass of white wine and Steve got their faaaaaaamous mint julep (infused with mint from their garden). I’m usually too much of a lightweight to like bourbon but dannnng this was good.

 IMG_0425 IMG_0426

After we finally decided on our entrees, we were greeted with an amuse bouche. This was a mussel with smoked tomato. Smoked tomato! What a yummy revelation! This was a smoky, sweet, crunchy, creamy bite.

IMG_0427 

Then we got a complimentary salad. Fresh herbs straight from their garden, a bit of watermelon and feta, and a perfectly light vinaigrette.

IMG_0429

For my entree, I got a special! It was local snapper on a bed of butter beans and tomatoes that tasted like SUMMER PERFECTION. Plus a tangy, slightly smoky sauce, and an EXTREMELY rich corn pudding.

IMG_0432 

So I’m reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeally picky about fish- I think there’s a very narrow sweet spot in which the fish is adequately cooked but still moist and just getting flaky. I hate overcooked fish. I know I sound like a snob, but to me, the point of going to a restaurant is to have access to ingredients I wouldn’t have at home, and to leave my meal in the hands of a professionally trained chef who can cook everything better than me!

Anyway, this fish fully delivered on both. It was perfectly done and crusted in this crunchy Parmesan awesomeness. The best bites were those browned edges, mm.

IMG_0433 

Steve’s entree was equally amazing. He got the spicy Savannah red rice with Georgia shrimp (also clams and chunks of fish and more!). The sauce on this was KILLER- intensely smoky, just a little spicy, with some acid from the tomatoes. The rice was perfectly chewy and flavorful (they know what they’re doing with rice down South- I have some skills to learn). And the blackened okra topping was crunchy and tasty! (And Steve loves him some okra).

IMG_0434

Finally, for a dessert (despite the fact that we were already bursting at the seams), we split this peach and blueberry cobbler. PERFECTION! Ripe and succulent fruit in a perfectly textured broth (not too thin, not too goopy) topped with a sweet, crumbly, slightly crunchy crust. With oh-so-rich vanilla ice cream. We couldn’t finish it! It was so good and we still had to give in!

IMG_0436

This was such a fun treat! I didn’t expect to have such a fancy-shmancy dinner on this trip, and then Steve announced one afternoon that he wanted to take me. Amazing surprise! Thank you thank you thank you!

Leave a Reply

