beautiful wilmington

Wilmington, North Carolina is a very very fun place to visit.

DSC04438DSC04461

Let me recount the joys the boyf and I took in.

First, I think Wilmington is the perfect distance away. When traveling, I think it’s satisfying to spend a certain amount of time on the open road, registering the fact that you are LEAVING your ORDINARY ROUTINE and going on VACATION! However, from the Triangle, Wilmington is also a relatively brief 2 and a half hours. That means that you don’t have to take leave from work, and can leave Saturday morning and come back Sunday afternoon and feel pretty balanced.

Second, Steve and I arrived during a spot of traffic, and learned when pulling over that Wilmington has DAZZLING thrift shops! The one we popped in on had an enormous selection of clothes and jewelry scattered haphazardly in front of their storefront that were all $1. I bought this fab ring and a few other things.

DSC04432 

Then, we hit up the aquarium. Anyone who’s read this blog for awhile (or has met me) knows I have a slight aquarium obsession. This trip was particularly fun because we met up with my cousin Elisabeth, her husband Carl, and their cutie pie four year old daughter Melina there.

DSC04440

Then, because it was in the mid-sixties (in the end of February. Yknow. Because North Carolina has the best climate ever!) we went for a nice long strollsie on the beach.

The beach we went on our first day was at Fort Fisher, around the corner from the aquarium. Apparently people aren’t supposed to swim there because the tides are dangerous. Watching them hit the rocks was gorgeous.

DSC04444

Self portraits!

 DSC04448 DSC04449 

Another one by a fun tide pool!

 DSC04451

And the boyf, taking it all in.

 DSC04450

There was a pretty small crowd on the beach. That couple had the most adorable teenage dog.

DSC04454 

And a man with a fancy camera was photographing the adorable sandpipers.

DSC04460

They really are dear little birds. They always look busy and slightly preoccupied.

DSC04464 

Before we went to Wilmington, Steve talked a big game about doing a polar bear plunge. I’m pleased he changed his mind and didn’t get hypothermia. Sticking a toe in was plenty cold.

DSC04462

We balanced on stones and watched waves crash in underfoot.

DSC04473

DSC04474

DSC04475

It was a wonderful day at the beach.

After (somewhat) rinsing the sand out of our shoes, we met Elisabeth and the fam once again for dinner at Dock Street Oyster Bar.

DSC04476

Specials!

 DSC04477 

(Steve ordered that Mardi Gras shrimp special. WOW THAT WAS A GOOD CHOICE! I had plate envy).

Naturally, we had to start our meal with some oysters. Steve and I split this appetizer, oysters with stuff on ‘em. (Not what they actually called it :D) I am actually kind of an oyster purist, so I let Steve eat a bit more of this fancy stuff.

DSC04480 

Wilmington in the evening. ARE WE STARTING TO SEE THE DAWSON’S CREEK SCENERY, GUYS? (Don’t worry, we’ll talk a lot more about the fact that I was walking the same streets as Pacey Witter. Don’t worry.)

DSC04478

Fast forward to the next morning in our purdy B and B.

DSC04481

Our room was gorgeous!

 DSC04495DSC04496

My one disappointment was that Steve had gone out of his way to get a room with a clawfoot bathtub in the bathroom because I’m so obsessed with awesome baths… and then it totally didn’t work! The plug didn’t plug and the hot water ran out almost immediately. I mentioned it (politely) as we were checking out, and the owner was all, “You should have just come down and knocked on my door! There was just an ornamental plug but if you pulled the lever and then there’s the backup water pump in the closet and blah blah blah” WHY WOULDN’T YOU TELL US ALL THIS STUFF WHEN WE CHECKED IN?! AND HOW DID WE KNOW YOU WERE AVAILABLE FOR QUESTIONS AT TEN THIRTY AT NIGHT?

Anyway, it was still a nice place. And had an INCREDIBLY COMFY bed on which I slept like a CORPSE! I’m not sulking that much 🙂

Plus, we got to enjoy a breakfast by candlelight in the beautiful dining room

(UM, JUST NOTICED THERE’S DEFINITELY A GHOST SITTING IN THAT CHAIR, GUYS!)

DSC04492

Breakfast in multiple courses. Talk about classy.

DSC04491

DSC04489 

The breakfast entree was this fab cranberry-almond french toast.

 DSC04493

Okay now let’s admire some pictures taken along the river walk in Wilmington that were TOTALLY PICTURED ON DAWSON’S CREEK AT SOME POINT PROBABLY.

DSC04497

I kept trying to find the high up bar from which Abby fell to her death in Season 2. And I couldn’t. It was sad. Abby was an awesome secondary character and I wish they had kept her around.

The natural beauty there is lovely.

DSC04500

There were lots of pretty old buildings and alleyways in which to duck and meander.

DSC04501

DSC04503

I took the pictures of this boutique entirely for Lydia. LYDIA THIS IS EMILY HOWARD’S BOUTIQUE, RIGHT?! (If any of you other readers happen to be Little Britain fans, right on. Right on.)

DSC04504DSC04505

AGH DAWSON’S CREEK MEMORABILIA IS JUST RIGHT THERE GUYS.

DSC04507

The inside of the cute little tourist trappy downtown market.

DSC04508

More Riverwalk views.

DSC04506   DSC04510

Ice cream. As second breakfast, or possibly elevensies. Steve and I split this, and in all honesty it was actually our second trip to Kilwin’s… we went the night before too 😀 They make the most amazing homemade waffle cones that make the inside of the shop smell like heaven. This was a double scoop: salted caramel and pecan praline. I mean come on.

 DSC04511

Amusement.

 DSC04513

Then it was time for another fun day at the beach! Wrightsville Beach, this time.

DSC04514 

Complete with nutso surfers/paddleboarders. No thanks.

DSC04515 

Nature’s pedicure. It was like 74 degrees on our second day there. Such a treat to get to wear shorts and stick my toes in the sun when so many are still suffering in the throes of winter.

DSC04528 

Fun nature and people watching on the pier.

 DSC04516

And cool visuals beneath.

 DSC04519

Photoshoot!

DSC04520

I was standing right about here, while Steve was kind enough to retrieve the car since I’d been using my shoes to hold the seashells I’d gathered and didn’t want to walk back barefoot and yada yada he’s a nice guy I’m rambling.

DSC04527

So I was standing right here and saw DOLPHINS! And then Steve pulled up and I said DOLPHINS, GET OUT OF THE CAR RIGHT NOW! And we both got to admire the dolphins. But since everyone knows that it’s impossible to capture a moving animal in the water from many many yards away (as anyone who’s ever tried to take good pictures while whale watching can attest) you’re just going to have to trust me.

Sunshine is so great for the soul. This was such a lovely lovely getaway.

DSC04530 

Last stop before hitting the road was lunch. We stopped at the cute King Neptune.

An attempt to get vegetables in my system, since they’d been a bit lacking, ahem. Steve and I split this.

DSC04533

Steve got this newborn child sized sandwich.

DSC04534

And I did the damn thing and got this platter. The flounder was meh but the shrimp very good and the scallops excellent.

DSC04535

2 thoughts on “beautiful wilmington

  1. Love it; I will send this to a niece who is moving there in the fall…her husband to be will be at hospital there. Miss you in choir!

  2. Let’s go back in the summer and you can lead a ghost tour! With the earnings we could get 4 scoops of ice cream and a repeat visit to Dock’s. Nice post, Zinkerbelle. I loved reliving the trip.

Leave a Reply

