Olympics!

I am going to be extremely modest and state that I hosted the most fun party of all time this past Saturday.

We feted the 29th (!!) birthday of my beloved Steve with a staggeringly awesome Olympics-themed bash.

DSC04251 

How do I begin to chronicle the delights of the evening?

Costumes were certainly stellar. My roommate Ali and her boyfriend Jason went above and beyond, first decking themselves out as, respectively, a figure skater and competitive swimmer; then looking up the names of the Croatian delegation and faithfully portraying them for the remainder of the evening.

DSC04241 

The birthday boy himself, entirely unsurprisingly to anyone who knows him, decked himself out in Sweden-ness.

DSC04248

As for the events… oh, the events. Steve planned a wide variety of games. Some of my (awesome) new coworkers came, and I heard one of them remarking, “Yknow,, I thought there would be more drinking involved.” I asked, “Is this okay?” and she went, “No, this is so much better!”

🙂

Here are some event pictures (uh, please notice that despite not having many events specifically focused on drinking, there was still a generous amount of alcohol involved)

Hula hooping (the boys were AWFUL!)

  DSC04256   

Who Can Keep Their Foot In A Bucket of Ice Water the Longest (an event in which I did NOT participate and in which I instituted a random end time so no one got frostbitten). I love Jason’s meditative face in this picture, and Andrew’s grimace.

DSC04263

By round 2, a lot of people figured out how to keep themselves warm.

 DSC04266

By far the most amusingly titled event was…

DSC04242

Get it? Get it? PUTIN ON THE RITZ! (Look up the old song)

People got blindfolded, spun, and then verbally guided to the above poster, on which they were trying to affix a small cutout of Vladimir Putin (in honor of the Russian-hosted Olympics)

 DSC04257 

Russia was also represented in the form of vodka infused Jello shots.

DSC04254 

Please note the hard work done by Jason to make the old Soviet Russia flag in the shots’ design.

DSC04253

Atop my American-flag-beach-towel table here were also Moscow mules (ginger beer, lime, and vodka), and Swedish meatballs for the birthday boy.

DSC04252

I also made homemade spanikopita, for which I apparently only bothered to photograph the absurd number of onions it contained.

 DSC04236

Annnd my aunt’s delicious speciality, which I have copied to great success twice now, baked brie in puff pastry. This time with raspberry jam on top. You MUST serve it with granny smith apples.

DSC04247 

And our friends Alex and Myra brought a GIANT SWEDISH FISH! They went above and beyond and purchased a fish mold so they could melt a bunch of Swedish fish and form this beauty:

DSC04255 

And of course no birthday is complete without birthday cake. I took the lazy route and used a chocolate cake mix, but was pleased with my decorating.

DSC04237 

Here is the man of the hour, digging in.

DSC04260

Leave a Reply

